Clemson Tigers Enter Field - Collegiate Rugby Championship
By on

The Clemson University Tigers are the latest team selected to join the 24-team title field in the 2017 Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship, set for Saturday, June 3rd and Sunday, 4th at Talen Energy Stadium in suburban Philadelphia.

Clemson, coached by Steve Lynch, joins a field that boasts four-time defending champion University of California, returning to the pitch on which they have won the Pete Dawkins Trophy in an unprecedented show of dominance. Rugby sevens squads from American International, Arizona, Arkansas State, Army, Boston College, Dartmouth, Indiana University, Life University, Lindenwood, Navy, University of Notre Dame, St. Mary’s College (Moraga, California), Tennessee, UCLA, Virginia Tech and Wisconsin, as well as Philadelphia-area favorites Delaware, Kutztown, Penn State, Saint Joseph’s and Temple have all earned a spot in the 2017 championship field. The one remaining team will be announced shortly.

This is the seventh consecutive year that the Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship has been held in Philadelphia and at Talen Energy Stadium, bringing national and International attention to the region through the live broadcasts on the networks of NBC Sports. The two-day rugby festival is one of the largest gatherings of collegiate and high school rugby teams in the world, with over 30,000 anticipated to be in attendance. Penn Mutual is in the third year of a title sponsorship for the event, and NBC Sports once again returns as both broadcaster and event partner.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *