Division Summary - Collegiate Rugby Championship

Division Summary

Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship Men’s Division

Entering its 10th anniversary, the Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship includes 24 of the top men’s rugby programs in the nation and is America’s first sevens championship. For the past decade, the competition has served as the centerpiece of a nationwide effort to build American rugby talent for competition on the International stage. Over the past ten years, the event has produced over 30 players who have gone on to play for the U.S. National teams.

Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship Women’s Division

The women’s division on the Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship features a 16 team field of the top women’s college rugby programs in the country. Some of America’s top female rugby players compete in the annual tournament. Last year’s winner, Lindenwood University, returns once again to defend its championship title.  

Freedom Cup

The Freedom Cup men’s division is a 6 team tournament comprised of teams from the region. Winners of the Freedom Cup division automatically qualify for a spot in the Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship men’s division the following year. In 2018, Fordham defeated West Chester to earn its spot in the 2019 Penn Mutual CRC men’s division.

NSCRO Championship

The 8-team field is set for the 2019 NSCRO Men’s 7s National Championship scheduled for June 1-2 at Talen Energy Stadium near Philadelphia, PA.  On Saturday, each team will play 3 pool round matches on the Academy Field adjacent to the Stadium. On Sunday, NSCRO action moves inside the Stadium for our semifinals and final. The additional matches to determine 3rd to 8th place finishers will be held on the outside field. This year’s event is loaded with both talent and experience as 5 teams are returning to the Championship including the 3 Champions from the past 4 years…New Mexico Highlands University (2015, 2016), Christendom College (2017) and The Claremont Colleges (2018)….along with the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point and Susquehanna University. The three new teams that are joining the veterans are Thomas More University, Loyola University Maryland and the University of Denver. Returning also is the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point who finished 3rd in 2017. Susquehanna’s return marks their 6th appearance in the 7 years this event has taken place. They have appeared in more Championships than any other school including their best finish in 2016 (third place).

High School Rugby Championship

In addition to the top men’s and women’s college rugby 7s teams in the United States, the cream of the crop of boys’ and girls’ rugby 7s high school and club teams participate annually in Philadelphia alongside the Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship. Those high school and club teams represent 10 states including California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Texas, Virginia Utah, and Wisconsin.

There are an anticipated 40 teams, comprised of approximately 600 high school rugby players, expected to participate in the weekend-long event. Friday’s competition includes play-in games and recruiting opportunities at the Greater Chester Valley Soccer Association Complex located at 137 Line Road in Malvern. Saturday and Sunday, the competition moves to the Talen Energy Stadium complex, with the championship matches taking place in the stadium.