Final Men's Teams Announced - Collegiate Rugby Championship
By on

Colorado, South Carolina, St. Bonaventure and Cal Complete the 24-team Men’s Rugby 7s Field for the 2019 Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship, May 31st to June 2nd in Philadelphia

The Nation’s Top 24 Men’s College Rugby 7s Teams, Including Defending Champion Lindenwood University, at Talen Energy Stadium

The final four men’s college rugby 7s teams – Cal, Colorado, South Carolina and St. Bonaventure – have been announced for the 24-team title field in the 2019 Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship, set for Friday, May 31st through Sunday, June 2nd at Talen Energy Stadium in suburban Philadelphia.

The University of California Golden Bears, five time winner of the Pete Dawkins Trophy, return to Philadelphia once again after winning the 2018-19 PAC 7s tournament. South Carolina returns to the Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship for the third time (and second consecutive year), while the University of Colorado and St. Bonaventure are both making their debut in the event.

The University of Colorado earned a coveted spot in the tournament after its success in the Las Vegas Invitational, while St. Bonaventure won the Heart of America event last month, both qualifiers for the Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship.

The four squads complete the 24-team men’s field which features America’s best teams, including defending champion Lindenwood University and runner-up UCLA, alongside Arizona; Army; Boston College; Clemson; Dartmouth; Fordham; Indiana; Iona; Kutztown; Life; Navy; Notre Dame; Penn State; St. Mary’s; Saint Joseph’s; Temple; Virginia Tech and Wisconsin.

The Lindenwood men’s squad took home their first Pete Dawkins Trophy with their 24-7 win over UCLA in the men’s championship final last June.  The Lions, out of St. Charles, Missouri, defeated Navy, 22-0 in the quarterfinal, and Life in the semifinal, 17-7.

UCLA’s Ben Broselle, a freshman wing from Ferndale (Washington) High School, received the inaugural Mark Dombroski Most Valuable Player Award for his play throughout the weekend.  The award was named in honor of the late Saint Joseph’s rugby player who passed away in March 2018.

The Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship trophy is named after the All-American football standout at West Point who won the Heisman Trophy in 1958.  Army General Pete Dawkins was a Rhodes Scholar and attended Oxford, where he used his outstanding football skills to make him a star on the Oxford Varsity rugby team, revolutionizing the game in the process.

Previous winners of the Pete Dawkins Trophy include:  Utah (2010); Dartmouth (2011, 2012); and California (2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017).

The 2019 Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship will mark the ninth consecutive year that the event has been held in Philadelphia and at Talen Energy Stadium, bringing national and International attention to the region. This year’s event will mark the second year that the competition will be televised live by the ESPN family of networks with the most television and digital coverage in the tournament’s history. The weekend-long rugby event is one of the largest gatherings of collegiate and high school rugby teams in the world.

The annual event also features the 16-team women’s championship field, as well as the Freedom Cup Championship featuring a six-team men’s field vying for a spot in next year’s main bracket; the National Small College Rugby Organization (NSCRO) national championship; as well as a national high school tournament with both boys’ and girls’ teams. Fields for each of those events will be announced in the coming weeks.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *