Penn State Women vs Lindenwood Women - Collegiate Rugby Championship

After three grueling days of play, the Lindenwood Lions and Penn State Nittany Lions trotted out to decide who would get to raise the 2018 CRC champions trophy: the three-time champion Penn State or rising super power Lindenwood. Kodi Barlow put Lindenwood ahead with a breakaway score under the post. Annakaren Pedraza easily converted for the 7–0 lead. Rachel Ehrecke looked to score for Penn State in the corner but was hit high while trying to place the ball. A penalty try was awarded, to make it 7–7. But Pedraza scampered through the Nittany Lion defense for a try and conversion to make it 14–7. The lead grew wider as Sativa Tarau-Peehikuru hammered threw Tess Feury and passed to Carin De Freitas for a try under the post. Pedraza’s conversion made it 21–7 at the break.

With the final seconds ticking away, the hopes of Penn State to win its first CRC in three years melted away. Jess Feury got the needed try, but only after the hooter, securing a victory for Lindenwood.

The win marks Lindenwood’s first CRC title after losing each of the past three finals, including a 2015 defeat to Penn State

Lindenwood: #1T, #2T, #4T, #2CCC