UCLA vs Lindenwood - Collegiate Rugby Championship

In the quest for both teams’ first CRC title, Lindenwood struck first with Chris Schoeman. JP Aguirre Romero hit the long conversion for the 7–0 lead. Following a yellow card to Aguirre Romer, Ben Broselle continued his remarkable CRC run and got UCLA tied with a try under the post with Cian Barry connecting on the conversion for a 7–7 tie. Shortly after, UCLA’s Patrick Reagan was shown yellow, keeping UCLA from exploiting the man advantage any further. Instead, it was Lindenwood who capitalized on 7-on-6 rugby with a try by Nick Freakes. Aguirre Romero’s conversion set the halftime score at 14–7.

After a half filled with back-and-forth rugby, Deion Mikesell out stepped three Bruins defenders to score in the corner. Aguirre Romero’s conversion attempt was off the post, making it 19–7 with just under two minutes to play. Just as UCLA threatened to get the first of two must-have scores, an interception sealed the match, leading to a fourth Lindenwood try, this one by Nick Taylor to secure the 2018 Collegiate Rugby Championship for Lindenwood: LU 24, UCLA 7.

This is the first CRC title for Lindenwood. It marks the first-time the same school has won both the men’s and women’s championships.

Lindenwood: #6T, #10T, #12CC/#3T, #5T
UCLA: #2T, #10C/
Yellow Card: #12 Lindenwood, #7 UCLA