By on

The number of schools that have stayed the course over a weekend to take any of the Penn Mutual CRC titles can literally be counted on one hand. One of them returning to Philadelphia this year looking for its third title ever is perennial Ivy League power Dartmouth. Now led by first year head coach James Willocks, who moved up from his assistant spot this past year, and will look to pilot the Big Green to a title which they took over Army in 2011 and Arizona in 2012.

This year they bring one of their deeper teams into the CRC, led by a group of returnees that include current team captain Benji Hannam, co captain Ollie Engelhart, Straun Coleman, Pat Sheehy, Luke Bienstock, Zac Kumar and Fuller Winton. A trio of Badenhausen’s,  Jack , Andrew and Peter could also be on the Dartmouth sidelines this year, one of a group of siblings that dot CRC rosters this year.

The Ivy League Sevens title eluded Dartmouth last month with a loss to Brown in the finals, but their determination to take the Dawkins Trophy back to Hannover for the first time in six years is very strong and history is certainly on their side, not just at the CRC but across intercollegiate rugby.

In 1965, the first XV was undefeated and was declared the unofficial national collegiate champion. More recently, with standout players like All-American and US National team star Madison Hughes, Dartmouth has twice reached the finals of the US national collegiate championship and has reached the semi-finals three times. Dartmouth has also enjoyed success in Ivy League competitions. Dartmouth has won the Ivy League cup 16 times since it was established in 1969, including five consecutive championships from 1998 to 2002 and six consecutive championships from 2008 to 2013.

History and experience, two keys to success. If Dartmouth has its way, those two can lead to a third title in 2018.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *