Dartmouth - Collegiate Rugby Championship


Team Summary

The Dartmouth Rugby Football Club DRFC) was founded in 1951, and competes in the Ivy Rugby Conference against its traditional Ivy League rivals. The DRFC also plays in the Varsity Cup and the USA Sevens Collegiate Rugby Championships. The Dartmouth rugby team comprises more than 60 students and often fields more than three sides on a given weekend during the fall term. One of the strengths and strongest traditions of the two clubs are the Annual Tours, the first of which occurred in 1951 when the DRFC toured Bermuda. The team returned to Bermuda this year, winning the Cup in the inaugural Ariel Re Bermuda 7s. The 1958 team was the first U.S. college rugby team to invade England (one English newspaper describing the event as “the nastiest upset since Bunker Hill”), and Sports Illustrated covered the 7-game tour in its January 19, 1959 issue. In recent years, the teams’ tours have included trips to England, Ireland, Italy, Spain, South Africa, Argentina, and Uruguay. Dartmouth has enjoyed great success on the national stage. In 1965, the first XV was undefeated and was declared the unofficial national collegiate champion. More recently, since 1980 Dartmouth has twice reached the finals of the US national collegiate championship and has reached the semi-finals three times. Dartmouth has been successful in national rugby sevens competitions. In 2011, Dartmouth defeated Army 32-10 for the men’s championship in the Collegiate Rugby Championship in a match broadcast live on NBC from PPL Park in Philadelphia. Dartmouth repeated as champions in the 2012 Collegiate Rugby Championship, defeating Cal 21-19 in the semifinal and beating Arizona 24-5 in the final. Dartmouth went 5-1 at the 2012 USA Rugby Sevens Collegiate National Championships to win the consolation bracket. Dartmouth has also enjoyed success in Ivy League competitions. Dartmouth has won the Ivy League cup 18 times through 2015 since it was established in 1969, including 5 consecutive championships from 1998 to 2002 and 8 consecutive championships from 2008 to 2015.

Head Coach: James Wilocks
Athletic Trainer: Ben Schuler
Strength & Conditioning: Annalise Hall


#SurnameFirst NamesHeightWeightMajorYearHometown
ColemanStruan6'5"225Environmental StudiesSeniorOyster Bay, NY
BurcinKyle5'9"180EconomicsSeniorBoslang Ridge,NJ
McArdleCharlton6'1"210Studio ArtSophomoreChicago, IL
NierenbergJonny6'0"190Sociology with EconomicsSeniorSand Point, NY
BadenhausenJack6'2"195EconomicsSeniorGlen Ridge, NJ
WintonFuller6'5"220EconomicsSeniorNewton, MA
HallParker6'5"215EngineeringJuniorMilton, MA
SheehyPat5'10"175EngineeringSeniorBethesda, MD
WeirMike5'10"160EconomicsFreshmanSchwensville, PA
BrevnovGyorgy6'1"190Math and RussianJuniorThe Plains, VA
LewisJarett6'1"200EconomicsSophomoreOklahoma City, OK
GreenJasper6'4"205UndeclaredFreshmanLondon,, England
BadenhausenAndrew6'1"205PhysicsSophomoreGlen Ridge, NJ